TwistofLyme has some very exciting news. After much thought and prayer and some networking (and 3 years of treatment under my belt), I’ve decided to go ahead with something I’ve wanted to do for a long time… and need your help with!!

I’m organizing a “Race for a Cure” to support Lyme Disease research.
All proceeds will go solely towards race cost, t-shirts, and the donation.

The race will be a 10k and will be run/walk on the C&O trail in Point of Rocks, MD, beginning at mile marker 49. Depending upon the number of participants, we may send everyone in waves, starting at marker 50 instead. Walkers will start an hour after runners.

The Marc train station has plenty of parking immediately opposite the trail, and there are several other lots in this area where people can park within walking distance of the starting line.

The race will be in mid September of 2010, probably around 730 or 8 in the morning. Obviously, as I’m just kicking the planning off, the details aren’t set in stone yet. I appreciate any and all input!

There will be several prizes donated (hopefully) by local stores, and I’m hoping to get the two organic markets in the area to cover food post-race.

Lyme disease is epidemic in it’s proportions right now, and awareness is the first step to beating this disease. We will be handing out pamphlets and other literature at the race for people to read and spread so we can help the greater community really understand how to avoid, diagnose, and treat it.

There are only 2 other races in the U.S. that I know of being held to support Lyme research – I’m very, VERY excited about this opportunity to get something going in our area! Thanks for taking part!

Most of you know how personal this cause is for me. Having battled Lyme for 3 years now, and in my 6th year of dealing with the awful affects of this disease, I know the toll this takes on your health: spiritually, physically, mentally… it is a horrible disease and it completely changes your life, forever. Two of my sisters have it as well, along with many dear friends.

God has been incredibly faithful in the midst of it, but my heart goes out to those who are suffering without clarity or treatment… and to those who, like me, are still the “guinea pigs” for treatment. There is not enough funding or support for research right now. You can help with this – I’m sure many of you know, by now, of others who’ve been affected by this disease, possibly those close to you. I’m grateful beyond words that I can count on you for support, input, and help in spreading the word about this race!

If you have a web page, running group, club, gym… please tell them to start getting ready for Twist of Lyme 2010 Race for a Cure. If you have any thoughts, questions, input… email twistoflymerun@gmail.com. I can send you some stuff to print, or put you on a list for distribution when we get the materials printed and ready to hand out. Your time and energy are precious, so I thank you for even considering helping out!

If you are able to contribute monetarily towards the prep for this race (printed materials, newspaper advertisements, etc. that will be going out), that would be an amazing help.

Basically, spread the word, get people excited, and give if you can.

This disease deserves our attention. Or, more accurately, those suffering now and those who will suffer in the future deserve our efforts to alleviate it. Please consider contributing time, energy, and funding towards this race. I assure you it will not be wasted!

Thanks again. Let’s make this a memorable event by getting the word out and getting involved! You’ll never regret making a difference.